Faith

Faith

As far as I know, there is only one verse in the holy book that defines faith. “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. For by it the people of old received their commendation. By faith we understand that the universe was created by the word of God, so that what is seen was not made out of things that are visible” (Hebrews 11.1-3). Faith has its sights set on home. It sees the evil of the world, but is assured that God is doing his part. It knows by experience, that there is no purpose going into suffering, but there is purpose coming out.

It is not just an intellectual idea, but a reality grounded and rooted in an understanding that I died with Christ, and if I died with Christ then I am in him and he in me. It stands in a reality of the incarnation, the death, and the resurrection of Jesus Christ. It lives in a way that these things are true, that the old man has been buried, and the new is risen in Christ. By faith I am forgiven, and I live, as it is true. Faith holds firm upon the rock of God whose kingdom will not be shaken by any other force thrashing about in the darkness. Faith chooses to believe what Jesus believes to be true about me, even when I feel as though it is not true.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

